Protective Styling Boring?

Protective styling aids growth no matter what your hair type is. Everyone’s hair grows but the icing on the cake is growth retention. I know twins where one saw rapid hair growth compared to her sister all because she tucked in her ends most days. What’s your protective styling regimen like? Let’s swap some ideas!

hairscapades

[PIC HEAVY]

On Sunday, I decided to start going through my photo “archives” from 2011 to present to build a Protective Styles album on Facebook. And, it started me thinking about the recent questions I’ve been receiving about how I’ve been able to “grow” my hair long. I put grow in parentheses as I think “growing” hair long is generally a misnomer. As many of us know, absent a medical condition, our hair is always growing. Shoot, how many used to relax every 4-8 weeks, because that new growth was coming in so fast? So, yeah, that smashes the concept that our hair doesn’t grow. However, what is often happening when hair plateaus at a certain length is that we aren’t retaining that growth.

Enter protective styling. Now, there are a variety of factors that I believe have contributed to my ability to achieve my current length, which is the…

View original post 516 more words

Leave a Reply

