I’ve got a scalp problem – this is how I manage it

Scalp problems are annoying – they always will be. I have one and it used to rule my life. Since I saw my GP a few years ago and did some trial and error with prescriptions, those days are long gone.

Not my hair, but this is what it looks like and worse sometimes.

What exactly is this scalp problem?

To be honest, I don’t know… but neither did my GP to be fair. She thinks it is Psoriasis, but it could be a combination of that and a common dry scalp.

As soon as I wash my hair my scalp gets white and starts shedding huge flakes. This is easily fixed with oil right after a wash. The real issue is that over time, say about 4 days, certain areas of my scalp will get a large buildup of flaky skin which eventually falls off and leaves a sore, red patch. On a bad day, my scalp would bleed.

What did this mean for me?

  • Sore scalp
  • Disgusting flakes all over my clean clothes and hair
  • Style restrictions – no dark clothes, no braids or other hairdos that would expose my scalp
  • Hair enslavement – constant washing, tending to wounds and no control over my regime
  • Bald patches
  • Low self-esteem

The fix

I went and saw my GP who explained to me that different things work for different people and that the process she was about to take me on would be one of trial and error. After about 6 weeks, the winner was Alphosyl 2-in-1 Shampoo and Conditioner and Coconut Oil.

My GP said to stick to my washing regime – for me that’s once a week, and use Alphosyl to shampoo. After washing my hair I should use coconut oil on my scalp immediately and repeat as necessary. Alphosyl is very moisturising, so I don’t follow up with a separate conditioner normally.

After 2-3 weeks, my scalp problems were gone.

Years later, what’s my verdict?

I use coconut oil very often, and as a result I don’t need Alphosyl that much now. It is still my go to shampoo when my scalp acts up.

Alphosyl is available over the counter at pharmacies for around £7.00

Moral of the story: Stop whining and go see your GP!

Leave a Reply

