Refreshing your Dry and Old Hair Style with Bantu Knots

After a manic weekend, I had no time or energy to put in CurlFormers. Instead I refreshed my hair with a spritzer I made myself and large bantu knots. I’ll go to bed and take these out the next day and hopefully have fresh curls.

Dry Hair - Old Hair Style IMG_20150419_214837

After over a week of having curls in, they are now elongated and dry. My hair is still clean and reasonably straight so I want to take advantage of this. Just put the right ingredients in your spray bottle, don’t even bother trying to detangle your hair.

What’s in my spray bottle?

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil adds shine – use 1 part
  • Water adds moisture – use 5 parts
  • Vegetable Glycerin retains moisture – use 3 parts

I shake the bottle vigorously (between applications because the oil won’t mix!) and lightly spritz sections of my hair, making sure I don’t drench my hair. There are lots of reasons for this:

  1. I want to avoid shrinkage
  2. I’m going to bed in a bit (yes, this is Sunday night) and don’t want to soak my pillow
  3. I want it to dry quickly

Next I twist the sections and then bantu knot them.

TOP TIP:

Don’t detangle your hair. It takes forever and you’ll have to drench it to get any decent curl definition.

IMG_20150419_231103IMG_20150419_234141

I’ve got about 10 bantu knots in the end – done! Just gotta wrap my hair and go to bed.

It’s Monday morning and I have loose, elongated and shiny curls.

After I take out the Bantu knots

Leave a Reply

